Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

Premium Member
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a loyal VW customer. My first VW was a 1967 Beetle. I currently still own a 2011 Touareg.
I have an ID.4 FE on order. I ordered 15 minutes after the online reservation system was opened.
I am a Certified Public Accountant by profession.

1. The dealership I have assigned the car to ( a very high volume dealership) has transferred my file three times.
and never has an answer to any of my simple, straightforward questions.
2. I called Customer Service of VW America. Not much help either. The rep. had to put me on hold to answer every question.\
3. I asked about pricing and possibly transferring the reservation to a different dealership. No answer if that can be done.
4. Now all buyers are at the mercy of each dealership for pricing. That is really too bad and will create bad will for VW.
5. Hopefully, as forum members purchase or lease, they will post the amount and terms to help others.

There will be buyers that cancel their orders...and the volume dealers will be sitting with inventory.
It may be better to wait to negotiate.

I just want to get a fair price.....no higher or lower than other buyers.

Any comments or suggestions will be appreciated.

Proud FE owner
I would recommend going on the vw.com chat. I have found them consistently well-informed about the ID.4 reservation process and other general VW terms. I've spoken with "Mia" several times and her knowledge is outstanding. They helped me switch dealers.

There are constraints within the franchise dealer system which, by Federal Trade Commission rule, puts limits on how involved a manufacturer can be in the pricing arrangements made between a dealer and the buyer. Someday, the dealer network will go away a la Tesla, but that's a ways off for VW. VW will steer clear of communicating any pricing other than MSRP with a buyer. They have, however, urged dealers to not play games with fees and markup.