Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using the same car wash business for 25 years. They do an excellent job. Took my ID4 AWD Pro S Gradient to the car wash for the first time. The manager came over as the vehicle exited the line and advised me that their insurance doesn't cover EVs and that I have been banned, despite being a loyal customer for so long. He called EVs "dangerous" because of the live pedals, and said he also refuses to let Teslas go through. Anyone else facing the same treatment?

·
Premium Member
VW ID.4 1st (picked up 3/19/21).
1,388 Posts
I've been using the same car wash business for 25 years. They do an excellent job. Took my ID4 AWD Pro S Gradient to the car wash for the first time. The manager came over as the vehicle exited the line and advised me that their insurance doesn't cover EVs and that I have been banned, despite being a loyal customer for so long. He called EVs "dangerous" because of the live pedals, and said he also refuses to let Teslas go through. Anyone else facing the same treatment?
No, nothing like this - our car wash is more than happy to have us go through. I don't know what he means by "live pedals" either...

·
272 Posts
Ignorance springs eternal.

·
ID.4 GTX & Golf 1 Cabriolet
503 Posts
Have you politely asked him, if he is stupid?

·
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
No, nothing like this - our car wash is more than happy to have us go through. I don't know what he means by "live pedals" either...
Unlike an ICE, if the fob is left in the car, the car is "live" as soon as you touch either pedal. No ignition to turn on if the car isn't already running.

·
iD4 Pro Performance Max - Ordered July 2021 - Delivery December 2021 (hopefully)
502 Posts
The “insurance” claim is almost never true. He does t like BEVs so has decided to use that excuse to ban them from his business. He’d better change his mind or he’ll have no business left!

·
25 Posts