Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Super Moderator
ID.4 1st Edition
3,901 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience to date with pure-electric vehicles and was just curious of those who do what additional tools (to include OBDII-access type) you're considering to load aboard your ID.4? Or perhaps given an electric's far less moving parts/maintenance I need to lean my thinking here as well. ;)

·
5 Posts
I bought a new Chevy Volt in late 2011. Yes, it has a gas engine, but it is rarely used - only about 3000 miles on gas. So, my car is electric. The only tools I've added are a spare tire and the tools for changing and patching tires. That is all I have needed.

·
2021 AWD ID4
31 Posts
I have always carried a small set of tools with all my cars. I carry a needle nose pliers, screw driver, vise grips, silicone fuse tape, multi-meter, etc. I am new to EVs and maybe it is not necessary. Having grown up on aircooled VW's I never went anywhere without a decent kit of tools. I am curious if anyone else carries a tool kit and what you have in it???

·
Premium Member
VW ID.4 1st (picked up 3/19/21).
1,707 Posts
I have always carried a small set of tools with all my cars. I carry a needle nose pliers, screw driver, vise grips, silicone fuse tape, multi-meter, etc. I am new to EVs and maybe it is not necessary. Having grown up on aircooled VW's I never went anywhere without a decent kit of tools. I am curious if anyone else carries a tool kit and what you have in it???
I would feel naked to go out without at least some tools.

The problem with multimeters is that they have small batteries (usually 9V), and if that goes bad, the multimeter is useless. If the thing sits for a few years without being used you might not know until it is too late.

·
614 Posts
I would feel naked to go out without at least some tools.