Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Took delivery yesterday. Could say "hey ID.4" to wake it up, and give the usual voice commands.
Today it wouldn't wake up so I pressed the steering wheel button - it came up - but doesn't hear any commands and shuts back off after a few seconds.
Bummer. Anyone else experience anything similar?
I really don't want to bring it in to service so soon :(

·
Premium Member
60 Posts
If this were a phone or tablet, I would say reboot it. Not just turn it off and back on, but do a true reboot. I have no idea if that's possible with the ID.4 software. Perhaps some IT savvy person here would know.

·
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought the same thing. I'm an IT professional. I couldn't find a way to reboot it. Maybe someone here knows though.

·
197 Posts
I thought the same thing. I'm an IT professional. I couldn't find a way to reboot it. Maybe someone here knows though.
I am pretty sure I saw a reboot in a video of the German guy with his ID.3. Not sure what his channel is called.

·
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It is literally just hold the power button in on the media screen til it shuts down. I'll let you guys know if it corrects the microphone issue.

·
2021 VW ID.4 1st Edition, Dusk Blue <3
415 Posts
It is literally just hold the power button in on the media screen til it shuts down. I'll let you guys know if it corrects the microphone issue.
When you do this, does the infotainment screen turn off fully, like completely black and not illuminated? I don't do it that often but I appreciate when I know I'm at least able to fully turn off the screen if I want to reduce illumination in the cabin.

·
Premium Member
VW ID.4 1st (picked up 3/19/21).
935 Posts
Sometimes there is a tiny hole into which you can push a wire to reboot the infotainment system. The Kona had such a thing.

·
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·