Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
ID.4 1st Edition White / Lunar Grey
899 Posts
The first one offers the greatest flexibility since you can plug it in to any 120 volt receptacle if you're out and about. But it's limited to 12 amps at that voltage, which seems like a unnecessary compromise.

May I suggest this unit, which allows 16A at 120. Of course this needs to plugged it in to a 20A circuit to do that, but that's a typical rating for outdoor circuits .

I've been using the Duosida for coming up on two years on my other car and it's been a reliable performer, spending its life in my frunk and plugged in for 8+ hours daily.

·
44 Posts
The first one offers the greatest flexibility since you can plug it in to any 120 volt receptacle if you're out and about. But it's limited to 12 amps at that voltage, which seems like a unnecessary compromise.

May I suggest this unit, which allows 16A at 120. Of course this needs to plugged it in to a 20A circuit to do that, but that's a typical rating for outdoor circuits .

I've been using the Duosida for coming up on two years on my other car and it's been a reliable performer, spending its life in my frunk and plugged in for 8+ hours daily.
Can the ID.4 charge at 16A on 120v? Most other EVs are limited to selection of 8A and 12A only.

·
ID.4 1st Edition White / Lunar Grey
899 Posts
Ooh, good question. The J1772 standard maxes out at 16A, but I only plugged the ID.4 the one time to clock it, and the numbers lined up. The problem with that methodology (basing charge on miles recouped instead of percent state of charge) is it varies by recent driver behavior. I'll have to make a point of plugging in for an extended duration and comparing the change in battery %, say over 8 hours.

·
Happy owner of a blue ID.4 FE
687 Posts