Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was rewatching an interview with the Director of e-mobility VW USA (I believe that is his title). He was explaining that the ID.4 has a higher percentage of useable battery than most EV and usually it is more limited to prevent the battery from going to full charge. The ID4 allows the drive the option of using that extra 20% when the need it. I’m very new to EV ownership so I found this very interesting.

Would you say that is the case with other EV? You charge to full but your useable kw is a smaller percentage of the entire battery capacity?

·
ID.4 1st Edition White / Lunar Grey
963 Posts
Yes, maybe wth the exception of some Teslas, I believe. BMW leaves around 5% at the top, more at the bottom. Polestar and Kia leave about 3kWh total unused, i think about 5%. Nissan is around 10% of around 22 kWh.

Of those BMW is the only one who doesn't recommend something other than a full charge, and had no way internally to set a % stop point. The others all allow the user to stop charging before 100%.

The 80% rule seems to be generally accepted but also hotly debated as unnecessary. There's not great evidence either way, yet the manufactures and battery markers make this part of their messaging. I think they're walking a fine line between being practical, and scaring their customers. That's enough to me to generally oblige, yet at the same time doesn't stop me from charging to 100% when I need it.

·
ID.4 FE GW
506 Posts
I was rewatching an interview with the Director of e-mobility VW USA (I believe that is his title). He was explaining that the ID.4 has a higher percentage of useable battery than most EV and usually it is more limited to prevent the battery from going to full charge. The ID4 allows the drive the option of using that extra 20% when the need it. I’m very new to EV ownership so I found this very interesting.