Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Nice work here, I may have to print it. The ultimate charging card shows an estimated time of charging required to reach a certain State of Charge (SOC) depending on the starting SOC, plus an estimated starting/final range (in selected range tests).
The ultimate DC fast charging card for ID.4

Wow, the ID.4 doesn't go below 50kW even at 90%. As a BMW i3 driver, I think that is super impressive. (Yes, I know the Hyundai Ioniq 5 might charge even faster at that level, but still)

Premium Member
VW ID.4 1st (picked up 3/19/21).
What I find interesting is that they worked this out in the winter. My Kona had an awful charging curve when it was cold out.

VW ID.4 1st Max | Mangan Gray
Wow, the ID.4 doesn't go below 50kW even at 90%. As a BMW i3 driver, I think that is super impressive. (Yes, I know the Hyundai Ioniq 5 might charge even faster at that level, but still)
it should say 40kw at 90% depending how low SOC% you started the charging.

If you start charging from 90% and charge to 100% it wont breach 25 kw charging power and will slowly drop to 15-20 depending how cold your batteries are

Reactions: ChristophW

it should say 40kw at 90% depending how low SOC% you started the charging.

If you start charging from 90% and charge to 100% it wont breach 25 kw charging power and will slowly drop to 15-20 depending how cold your batteries are
thx! 40kW is still impressive.

Starting a fast charge at 90% (or even 80%) seems like an extreme rare edge case, I鈥檓 fine if the charging speeds aren鈥檛 optimized for that.
And the fact that fast charging is free for us customers makes it even better 馃榿

Happy owner of a blue ID.4 FE
I agree, the DC charge curve is very flat and will deliver more than many cars with higher peak rates promise (looking at M3 and MY). I sort of expected this based on ID3 curves, but it's still extremely nice to see it confirmed, and in cold temperatures too.