Volkswagen ID Forum banner
1 - 20 of 118 Posts

·
ID.4 FE GW
506 Posts
Hi everyone,

Since I got my ID.4 I really find the VW put a subpar sound system in it, so I changed mine to for higher grad speakers.

Please find the tutorial to do that by yourself at Upgrade the VW ID.4 audio system – Allmost Useless Tips

Hope it will provide you with plenty of great sound for your drives.
This is so awesome - thank you!
I can't stand the stock audio, and I'm going to send your page to a local audio installer for a quote.

·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
This is so awesome - thank you!
I can't stand the stock audio, and I'm going to send your page to a local audio installer for a quote.
Well I'm not a pro but I summarized all different question I have had during my install.

·
ID.4 FE GW
506 Posts
I looked at your info a little more and have a question:

Doesn't the ID.4 have a center speaker in the middle of the dash just forward of the main screen? What did you do with this - disconnect it or leave it as-is or something else?

·
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Leave it and it is, as powered by a 5th channel on the stock amplifier, it must stay connected because most of the gps indications to it. The new speakers will almost cover this speaker in music usage, they are louder.

·
ID.4 FE GW
506 Posts
Leave it and it is, as powered by a 5th channel on the stock amplifier, it must stay connected because most of the gps indications to it. The new speakers will almost cover this speaker in music usage, they are louder.
Thank you; that is really helpful.
Will the new speakers still be louder than the center channel if I only install the Focal IS VW 165 and Focal IC VW 165 without the Focal amp?

·
267 Posts
Wow that is very fast development time for a plug and play system considering cars didn't show up until early March! Perhaps they got their hands on a demo unit early to dissect.

·
ID.4 FE GW
506 Posts