Volkswagen ID Forum banner

VW OS shortcomings

3K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  NBCGLX 
#1 ·
Looking at the various video reviews and video adverts, I am starting to get an impression of VW's biggest issue: The incomplete VW OS. I am a tech expert (CTO, with experience in web development, software support, manuals, courses, etc.) and feel fairly qualified to critique without having experienced the real thing.

"Instrument cluster" on the steering column:
This tripartite screen feels largely unfinished, without the polish and cohesiveness of a mature product. The data is there, the developers have obviously given thought to what information needs to be larger and/or colored, but it doesn't hold together, and doesn't leave me with a smile and a nod like looking at the nose of the car or the overall interior does, for example. I like that the display is configurable from the steering wheel, but that does not (and should not) hide the overall design shortcomings.
I'd say this screen is at an alpha stage. That said, I really like the decision of placing it on the steering column. That's one of the really good decisions VW made on the ID series.

Infotainment screen (hate that name, but it's what everyone uses):
The home screen with app icons is a truly bad idea. No data displayed by default means getting to anything useful takes taps, swipes, and worst of all, brain cycles. That is simply uncool in a car. I sure hope the defaults can be changed and saved.
The fact that the icons are recolorable and can be rearranged does not make it any better, it just pretties up the fact that an array of icons is essentially useless, although now colorfully useless. The icons themselves do not look very distinctive on the videos I have seen, and being all the same color makes usability worse. It also does not look like there will be badges on icons, or other distinctions that would carry at least a minimum of information.